Skip to content

About this blog

November 1, 2010

Welcome to Tales from a Tokyo Kitchen, a blog about cooking, eating, and understanding Japanese food written by an American with a healthy obsession for all things washoku. After several years of cooking Japanese food most days of the week I finally decided that it would be fun to talk about my favorite subject to someone other than my husband, who has for long been suggesting that I share my passion for the cuisine of his country with people who might not necessarily keep konbu in their kitchen.

As I mentioned on my About page, I am not anything resembling an expert in Japanese cuisine. I’ve never attended culinary school, written a cookbook, or even worked in a restaurant. Yet as a person who used to be incredibly intimidated by and suspicious of Japanese food (caused mostly by unexpected encounters with fish eyeballs and creatures of the tentacled variety), I am proof that it’s possible to both make sense of this cuisine that includes so many unfamiliar ingredients and incorporate it into your life in a harmonious way. And even if you don’t plan to cook or eat Japanese-style meals very often, I truly believe that Japanese food can be a healthy addition to any type of diet.

The food that comes out of my kitchen in Tokyo is, on the whole, fairly simple. I like having a fancy kaiseki meal once in a while but on an average weekday I would rather enjoy a simple yet nicely presented meal without any overly fancy touches. That’s the kind of food I plan to talk about on this blog as I share recipes from a variety of sources, discuss seasonal ingredients, give suggestions for further resources, and talk about food culture and trends in Japan.

I’m starting small at first but plan to update about three times a week. If you have any further suggestions please don’t hesitate to share them in the comments!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 1, 2010 3:09 pm

    Congratulations on your blog launch!

    I’m looking forward to seeing what you’ve got planned.😀

  2. November 2, 2010 12:04 am

    Looks great, Jessica!

    I too am excited to see what’s coming!🙂

    • November 2, 2010 8:20 am

      Thanks! I’ve been enjoying reading yours too! (that butternut squash soup looked especially good…)

Leave a Reply

